Global Radio Scintillometry Astrophysics 2018

October 22-26, 2018     Shanghai, China


Scintillometry uses cosmic plasma lenses to achieve unprecedented resolving power of coherent radio emission, including pulsars and FRBs. These sources enable a precise map of the lens structures, probe magnetic fields, and map tiny scale structures in the interstellar medium. Low frequency VLBI has provided a new window to quantify our understanding of these enigmatic structures, and complementary use of the lenses to study the sources in microscopic detail.

This meeting brings together theory, data, and facilities, reviewing recent progress, and providing an open forum for future work. Significant time will be allocated to topical discussions.

It is recommended that participants register early in order for LOC to provide timely assistance (e.g. invitation letter for visa) if needed.

If you have any questions, please contact
Haoran Yu (
NEW Programme

Registration and Abstract Submission
Registration Fee and Payment Methods
Abstract submission deadline: October 04, 2018
Registration and Payment deadline: October 11, 2018

Participant List

Key Dates and Schedule

Visa Information

Meeting Venue and Hotel Information


Links to the tourist website:

Shanghai Travel Guide    Suzhou Travel Guide    Hangzhou Travel Guide



  • Anna Bilous (University of Amsterdam)
  • Na Wang (Xinjiang Astronomical Observatory)
  • Robert Main (Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy)
  • Jinlin Han (National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Sciences)
  • Marten van Kerkwijk (University of Toronto)
  • Alexey Rudnitskiy (ASC, LPI, Moscow)
  • Stefan Oslowski (Swinburne University of Technology)

3D campus view


  • Ue-Li Pen (CITA, Toronto, Chair)
  • Viswesh Marthi (CITA, Toronto)
  • Jean-Pierre Macquart (ICRAR, Perth)
  • Stefan Oslowski (Swinburne, Melbourne)
  • Alexey Rudnitskiy (ASC, LPI, Moscow)
  • Dan Stinebring (Oberlin College)
  • Na Wang (XAO, CAS, Urumqi)
  • Alex Hill (DRAO, Penticton)
  • Olaf Wucknitz (MPIfR, Bonn)
  • Robert Main (MPIfR, Bonn)
  • Kejia Lee (KIAA, Beijing)
  • Carl Gwinn (UCSB, California)



  • Li Fu (TDLI)
  • Sheng Li (TDLI)
  • Mengzhu Lu (TDLI)
  • Jinghua Shi (TDLI)
  • Jieshuang Wang (TDLI)
  • Haoran Yu (TDLI, Chair)
  • Yu Yu (SJTU)
  • Pengjie Zhang (SJTU/TDLI)
  • Ying Zu (SJTU)


The Global Radio Scintillometry Astrophysics 2018 is sponsored by Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Tsung-Dao Lee Institute, Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics, and Dunlap Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics.